“Toward a More Expansive Definition of ‘Princess'”

“Toward a More Expansive Definition of ‘Princess'”

My childhood best friend gave my 19-month-old daughter (read = me) the first two of Patricia C. Wrede’s Enchanted Forest chronicles for Christmas.  My friend and I read these books together when we were 9 or 10, and we loved every minute of them then.  What we didn’t know was that we were also adding some significant building blocks to our feminist sensibilities in the process.  The above article, published last May in The Atlantic, is both entertaining and thought-provoking.   And, since I’m now re-reading the entire series, in honor of little girls everywhere and the fantastically-low temps outside our windows, I thought I’d share.

Just adding to the princess debate, y’all.

Leave a Reply

